IRH - The best friend I never met

This section is to honor the works of Russ Lancaster who started the “I Remember Hamlet” web site years ago. Without his pioneering the web at that time we might not have gathered all these memories of our Hamlet, NC. We thank you Russ for what you started in 1996, may you Rest in Peace. Russ was kind enough to let me download his web site before he took it down. Thank you Russ.
David
Site Admin

IRH - The best friend I never met

Post by David »

The best friend I never met
(or did I?)
Hamlet NC, 1948-53
by: Russ Lancaster

As most of you know, I was born in Hamlet in 1941 and lived there until I graduated Hamlet High School in 1959. The years beyond that are well chronicled in other stories on this site.

There was another kid in Hamlet during a five year span between 1948 and 1953 that I should have known. My first awareness of him however didn't occur until late in 1999. His name is Bruce Osburn.

Being a kid in Hamlet between 1948 and 1953 was a special thing though we may not have realized it way back then. Time has a strange way of changing one's views on life. In those years and those days, being a year older or younger than other kids around you meant very little except during the school year. Other times, age didn't matter. However, a two or three year difference in ages mattered greatly. Kids mostly kept company with kids their own age back then, at least outside family settings.

Bruce and I were two to three years apart in age and that is one reason I have no memory of him in my childhood years. More importantly, we lived totally different lives. He was a country boy, I was a city boy. That too kept kids from knowing one another.